Skip to main content

Awards Finalists Announced

By July 25, 2022August 29th, 2022No Comments

The finalists in the 2022 FMANZ Awards were announced today, chosen from a record number of entries.

“The FMANZ Awards have grown from strength to strength,” says Awards Committee Chair John Hutchings. “This year we received a record number of entries across our five award categories, almost double previous years and far surpassing last year’s record.

“The quality of the entries was high,” adds John, “with increased use of supporting information which really showcases the initiatives to our judges.

“Congratulations to our shortlisted nominees and to everyone who entered. Shortlisting 15 entries was tough and a testament to the number of quality entries.”

FMANZ’s annual awards recognise and celebrate excellence within the facilities management industry in New Zealand and this year saw the addition of a new award category for Sustainability and Environmental Impact which received a large number of entries, showcasing a variety of sustainability initiatives, from social enterprise to environmental stewardship.

“It was exciting to see our members really making a difference in the lives of our communities, colleagues and our planet with some really great initiatives,” says John.

FMANZ looks forward to celebrating the finalists and announcing the winners at their gala awards dinner on Wednesday 14 September. Held during FMANZ’s annual two-day conference, FM Summit 2022, the awards ceremony at Cordis Auckland will be hosted by Pio Terei.


Each year the Brian Happy Award is presented to a facilities management professional who has applied their experience and knowledge to produce exceptional results within their organisation, as well as demonstrating excellent personal qualities. Vying for the 2022 Brian Happy Award for Facilities Manager of the Year are:

  • Brendan Tracey, Facilities Operations Manager at MBIE
  • Tony Wall, Senior Facilities Manager at Cushman & Wakefield

The Emerging Facilities Management Professional of the Year Award (formerly Young Achiever of the Year Award) is presented to a relative newcomer to FM who has a passion for the industry and is driven to seek out extra responsibilities and new skills to expand their knowledge and fast-track their career in FM. This year’s finalists are:

  • Luke Browne, Facilities Manager with Colliers
  • Drew Crowhurst, New Zealand Retail Property Group
  • Courtney Swann, Contract Manager – Compliance with BGIS

Introduced last year, FMANZ’s Facilities Management Team of the Year Award recognises the outstanding performance of a team working in FM. Competing for this year’s award are:

  • Kingfisher Group and Victoria University of Wellington (joint project team)
  • Te Whatu Ora – Southern (formerly Southern District Health Board)
  • Urban Maintenance Systems (UMS) Auckland

Introduced this year, our new Sustainability & Environmental Impact Award celebrates FM professionals who are making a difference by inspiring the FM industry to enhance the social, environmental and economic sustainability of the communities we live in. Our inaugural finalists are:

  • Auckland Zoo
  • Citycare Property, Auckland
  • PMG Facilities and Sustainability Team
  • Westpac

And finally, the Service Provider of the Year Award acknowledges outstanding provision of contracted-out facilities management services. Vying for the 2022 title are:

  • Clarksons
  • Cushman & Wakefield, Trades Services (Hamilton Branch)
  • Downer NZ

Ka mau te wehi!