Our Board

FMANZ was incorporated in 2008 by a group of facilities managers who recognised the importance of excellence and professionalism, and identified a need for knowledge sharing and education to advance the profession. Our elected board members continue to guide and shape FMANZ’s policies and direction.

Learn More

Bruce is the manager of the planning and advisory team within the Government Property Group (GPG) at the Ministry of Business Innovation & Employment (MBIE). GPG helps deliver the property functional leader responsibilities for government across 61 crown agencies. GPG is responsible for delivering the government office accommodation programme, as well as providing property advice and setting standards and guidelines.

Bruce has held senior property roles within the New Zealand Defence Force and Inland Revenue. As head of the Defence Property Group, he led the amalgamation of the property organisations of the three services (Army, Navy and Airforce) into one organisation. Bruce has been a national evaluator for the New Zealand Business Excellence Foundation.

He has a Bachelor of Science from Victoria University and a Master of Business Studies from Massey University.

Bruce was elected to the FMANZ Board in 2015 and has been Chair since October 2016. He is a Certified Member of FMANZ (CFMANZ).

Agnes McCormack, MFMANZ

Deputy Chair

Learn More

Agnes has over 15 years’ experience in facilities management across the public and voluntary sectors, working with and on behalf of elected members and stakeholders. As head of operational management and maintenance – community facilities with Auckland Council, her current portfolio is valued in the region of $11 billion, with an annual operational budget of around $130 million.

Delivering high quality outcomes for stakeholders is her motivation as is the lifelong learning afforded by managing a broad range of assets which includes beaches, regional parks, sports fields, urban forests, playgrounds, modern high density office accommodation, high use community facilities and complex aquatic systems.

Agnes was elected to the FMANZ Board in August 2017 and is a Member of FMANZ (MFMANZ).

Ross Brunton, CFMANZ

Learn More

Since starting out in FM in the mid 1990’s, Ross has been involved in many sectors of the industry as a facilities manager. This includes large defence sites, as a consultant providing FM to local government and a national telecommunications provider, and developing condition assessments and maintenance planning for education organisations.

Ross currently leads a team that manages the maintenance of a diverse range of facilities for Hamilton City Council.

A member of FMANZ for over 10 years, Ross has been keenly involved at branch level and helped to establish the Waikato/Bay of Plenty branch.

Ross was elected to the FMANZ Board in October 2019.

Learn More

Managing director at Cushman & Wakefield, Paul has over 30 years’ experience in the hospitality/facility services and facilities management industries in the UK and New Zealand.

His general management capabilities and drive for excellence in service delivery means customers receive a focused and effective range of services. A specialist in the government sector, with PPP (public-private partnerships) and corporate account experience, Paul is focused on team development and advancing the industry in New Zealand to be more partnership driven.

Paul was elected to the FMANZ Board in October 2019.

Vanessa Powell

Learn More

A recruitment consultant with Robert Walters, Vanessa is a long-serving member of the Wellington branch committee. With a background of recruiting roles within the facilities management, property and procurement industries, building futures for the FM profession is something she is passionate about.

Vanessa holds a BCA Commerce and Administration, and has previously had international experience working with organisations such as FIFA, Virgin and Transport for London.

Vanessa was elected to the FMANZ Board in October 2019.

Regan Simpson, MFMANZ

Learn More

Regan has spent 20 years working in the FM industry, both in Europe and in New Zealand, and is currently managing director of MSS Group.

Previous positions include director at Brookfield NZ, director property and facilities management at JLL, head of facilities management at Colliers, head of facilities with Rubicon Retail in the UK and facilities manager – Universal Studios, UK.

Previous directorships include BGIS NZ Limited and C3 Limited Multiplex Tasman Management Ltd, Prime Infrastructure Networks Ltd, Brookfield Multiplex Capital Ltd, Onyx Property NZ Ltd, and Multiplex Funds Management Ltd. Regan holds a New Zealand Certificate in Architectural Drafting and a Certificate from BIFM.

Regan was elected to the FMANZ Board in August 2017 and is a Member of FMANZ (MFMANZ).

Learn More

Anthony has over 30 years of technical and facilities management experience gained in New Zealand, Australia and the United Kingdom. Working for WSP Consultants as the Building Asset Management Leader, based in Christchurch. Anthony is passionate about providing sound professional strategic advice that is supported by a strong technical background and leadership in property, facilities management, capital asset management and building services engineering.

Anthony is a Certified Member (CFMANZ)  and has been a member of FMANZ since 2010 and a Christchurch Committee member since 2011. He is also Chair of the Christchurch Branch. Anthony holds a Masters in Design Science (Facilities Management) from Sydney University and is also a Chartered Professional Engineer (CPEng).

Richard Wilson, CFMANZ

Learn More

Current Chair of the Dunedin branch, Richard was elected to the FMANZ Board at the 2018 AGM.

Formerly facilities manager at Otago Museum, Richard took up the post of assets and facilities team leader at Dunedin City Council in November 2018.

Richard is a Certified Member of FMANZ (CFMANZ).